Driver Education is an extracurricular service offered by the Preston School District. Although the district attempts to meet the needs of all students, it is not obligated to provide the service.
Students must be 14.5 years old to get a instructional permit from the Sheriff's Office.
Students must have ordered an instructional permit to take driver education.
Students must finish driver education BEFORE they drive with their parent or gaurdian.
Students are expected to attend 30 hours of classroom instruction and 12 hours in-car instruction (Idaho Law).
All absences must be made up, and students who miss more than 6 hours will fail the class. No refunds given.
Summer classes are 4 - 5 weeks in duration. Classes run Monday thru Thursday and also some Fridays depending on the circumstance. Drive times are set up all through the week. Students are expected to drive 2 to 3 times per week.
Fall/Spring classes are 10 weeks in duration. This class is offered on Fridays. Drive times for this class will be set up after school, after athletic practices and also on Fridays. Students are expected to drive 1 to 2 times per week.
Online Driver Ed (IDLA)
The Idaho Digital Learning Academy (IDLA) is the only on-line course accepted by the Idaho State Department of Education. IDLA registration is limited, is not available during the summer months, and MUST have prior approval. Students in this program do the class portion online and the driving portion with a Preston Instructor. Students are expected to drive 2 to 3 times per week.
Sorry, but there was nothing found. Please try different filters.
News | Announcements | Events
SchoolFeed combines news from all the schools and groups.